Table of Contents
User Guide
Assignment Workflows

Workflows push assignments through specific steps in the content development process.
section
Whenever you create an assignment, you have to assign a workflow to it. Workflows contain a sequence of steps that you assign users to. As assignees complete their step, the assignments moves through the workflow until completion.
Important:Contact an easyDITA representative to customize your easyDITA configuration to align with your content development structure and process.
Here’s an example of a default workflow:
Workflows can be configured to fit an organizations specific needs. By default, there are two example workflows you can choose from:
Author, Verify
Assign one user to write the content and another user to verify the content.
Author, Review, Verify
Assign one user to write the content, another user to review the content, and another user to verify the content. It’s common to assign the same user for the Author and Verify step.
section

Multiple assignees

You can assign multiple assignees to a workflow step. When multiple users are assigned to a workflow step, the step must either be:
  • Completed by only one user in the group
  • Completed by all users in the group
By default, the following configuration is used:
section

Moving assignments through a workflow

Assignments use a linear workflow. This means a workflow step only becomes active when it’s the first step in the workflow or the previous step in the workflow has been completed. So you can only move an assignment through a workflow one step at a time. Once the workflow step you’re responsible for becomes active, you can begin working on the assignment. You can perform the following actions:
Complete
If you’re done with the work for your step, you can complete your step. Once the step is complete, the next workflow step will become active and the user(s) responsible for it will receive an inbox notification.
Claim
If multiple users are assigned to a workflow step that only needs to be completed by one user, you can claim the step. Claiming a workflow step means that you are responsible for the step.
Forward
If you’re unable to work on your step, you can forward the step to another user. They’ll receive an inbox notification that they’re responsible for the step now.
Return
If the work in the previous step was not completed or the previous workflow step needs to be repeated, you can return the assignment to the previous step owner.

For example, if the assignment you’re working on is using the “Author, Review, Verify” workflow, and you’re the Reviewer, you can return the assignment back to the previous step for the Author to make the changes you suggested. Once they’ve made the changes, they can continue with the workflow and send it back to you for another review.
When the assignment reaches the final step in the workflow, the user responsible for the step can close the assignment and mark it as resolved. If the assignment cannot or no longer needs to be completed, the user reponsible for the step can close the assignment and mark it as unresolved.