Table of Contents
User Guide
User Roles

User roles are default roles available in your instance of easyDITA.

In easyDITA, roles determine what a user can do and see in the interface (these capabilities are preconfigured). You can change a user’s role using the Users interface.

section
Note:You must be an Administrator to access the Administration interface.

There are four default roles available. All roles are able to:
  • See the Dashboard interface and Authoring interface.

  • Can perform CMS-level actions on files like changing the status, assigning metadata, and moving or renaming files.

Role Permissions to
Administrator
  • View and modify the Administration interface.

  • Branch content, merge branches, and delete branches.

  • Release content, deprecate releases, and move deprecated releases back to current list.

  • Open and edit files.

  • Force unlock files locked by others.

Editor/Manager
  • Open and edit files, except files that are locked by others.

Author
  • Open and edit files, except files that are locked by others.

Reviewer
  • Open files in Review-only mode and leave comments or suggestions.

Important:Contact an easyDITA representative to customize your easyDITA configuration to align with your content development structure and process.

section

User Privileges

You can assign additional privileges to a user, regardless of their user role. The following privileges can be assigned to a user:
  • Allowed to create Releases

  • Allowed to create Branches

  • Able to edit documents in “review-only” mode

  • Allowed to make changes to localized resources

  • Allowed to make changes to translation memory

  • Allowed to use Source Mode in the Topic Editor